This guide to motorcycle license in Colorado will give you all the information you need to get your motorcycle license, whether you want to ride a motorcycle as a sport or for transportation purposes.
Colorado Motorcycle License
Getting a motorcycle license card in Colorado is a little different. The state DMV does not issue a motorcycle driver’s license; it endorses you on your existing driver’s license with either an “M” or a “3.” The M license gives you the privilege of riding any motorcycle, while the “3” allows you to ride a three-wheeled bike only. In short, to get a motorcycle endorsement, you need to have an existing driver’s license.
What are the requirements?
There are a few steps to take for a motorcycle license before you can get one. For the “M” endorsement, you have to be at least 16 years old and a holder of a valid Colorado driver’s license.
Here are the steps:
- Take and pass the written exam.
- Buy the motorcycle instruction permit after passing.
- Schedule a motorcycle ride skills test.
- Once you pass, purchase a new driver’s license to add the motorcycle endorsement at the driver’s license office.
- Complete the Motorcycle Operator Safety Training Course. Bring the proof to the DMV. You can buy the new driver’s license that displays your acquired endorsement here.
Note: To get the motorcycle endorsement, you must have held a motorcycle instruction permit for 12 months.
How old do you have to be to ride a bike in Colorado?
For those under the age of 18 who want to ride a motorcycle in Colorado, they require the following:
Obtain an “Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship” signed and submitted by your parents or guardian.
Hold a motorcycle riding permit for an entire year, making you eligible for a motorcycle endorsement (or “M” on your Colorado driver’s license). To receive the official “M” Colorado motorcycle endorsement for your license, you must be 16 years old.
You must finish the “Motorcycle Operator Skills training” (MOST) program if you are between 15 and 16.
A motorcycle is permissible in Colorado with an adult over 21, as long as that person has a valid Colorado motorcycle endorsement on their driver’s license. The said adult must have the permission of your parent or guardian.
Note: To Pass the CO DMV exam, you need to answer 25 questions, get 21 correct answers (84% passing score), and be 16 years old and above.
How much does a license cost?
The cost of a motorcycle permit is $16.80, while the endorsement on your license when you take the road test will cost you $28, then $2 for the “M” endorsement.
Penalty for Riding a Motorcycle Without a License
It’s illegal to operate a motorcycle in Colorado if you do not have a valid motorcycle license. You’ll get pulled over, receive a ticket, and up to 4 points on your license, 40 hours of public service, pay the required fine, not to mention court expenses.
How about Scooters?
Colorado does not categorize low-powered scooters (50cc and under) as motorcycles, so although a driver’s license is required to drive one, you do not need a motorcycle endorsement.
As you can see, the Colorado motorcycle license is a little different than most states.
However, the license is an excellent opportunity for you to enjoy the state’s beautiful roads and maybe even meet some of the great riders out there.
If you are 16 years old or above, have a valid Colorado driver’s license, and have held a motorcycle instruction permit for an entire year, you are eligible for your license’s “M” endorsement. If you are too young and want to enjoy motorbike thrill then there are some motorbikes for younger ages which you can ride in the safer areas such as motorbikes for 12 years old boys.
Good luck, and enjoy your new license!